Whisky Advent: Day 1

Welcome to the 1st of December and the first day of Advent. As regular readers will know I am the proud (and ridiculously excited) owner of one of the Master of Malt Whisky Advent calendars. Over the next 24 days I’ll be opening and reviewing the drams behind the numbered doors right here.

Mostly I’ll try to do my reviews on the day, but knowing how December is, there may be the odd day when two reviews are posted. I hope you enjoy this series, and that my excitement leaps off the pages!

So onto day 1.

Do you remember being a child? I mean really remember, when you were, say, under 10? Remember the excitement every morning in December when it was time to open the advent calendar? The chocolate inside was a real treat in the morning and it was exciting to open the mystery doors! Well I remember that excitement, but I’ve not felt it for 15 or more years.

Christmas is a nice time, but it’s not really exciting anymore. It’s been done, we know what’s going to happen, and, since every year seems so short now, it doesn’t feel long enough since the last time.

At least that’s how I felt until my whisky advent calendar arrived! As I opened the door on the first advent calendar I’ve had for a decade I felt that excitement again. That feeling has made the whole thing worth the money, and that’s before we try all of the treats hidden inside. So this is what the first open door looked like.

sheepdipamorosooloroso

And here is what was inside!

door1

SPRINGBANK!

A great way to start master of malt. An independent distillery who insist on craft presentation (higher ABV, no caramel, no chill filtration), and a distillery that constantly produces exceptional single malt. So, cap off, dram pour, December 1st, here are the dramstats:

  • ABV 46%
  • Age 10 years
  • Non coloured
  • Non chill filtered

Nose: Salty tangy peat layered with fruity sherry. Raisin, dry roasted peanuts, and roast chestnuts.

Palate:  Chocolate, salty coconut, raisin, dry roasted peanuts.

Finish: Snickers bar! Chocolate, peanuts, caramel with salt, peat and juicy raisin.

Verdict: Excellent dram from one of my absolute favourite distilleries. I’ve never been steered wrong by a springbank yet. This classic 10 year old is available in many bars, so if you see it, have a dram. If you’ve not sniffed a springbank it is a unique and absolute malt-must!

Loved day 1. Can’t wait for tomorrow now!

Leave a Reply

