Bruichladdich `The Organic’

Back when I visited Bruichladdich they were distilling and bottling a new product I had not seen. ‘Organic’ whisky. I was immediately skeptical.

This is certainly a sweeping generalisation, but, to me, ‘organic’ is often an alternative label for ‘expensive’. There are exceptions to this, of course, but for most products I buy, whether it is ‘organic’ or not, is pretty unimportant and often makes little difference. When it comes to whisky, I was skeptical as to whether the organic nature of the distillate would change anything at all. Was this just a gimmick? I had to find out.

Here are the dramstats:

organic

  • ABV 46%
  • Non coloured
  • Non-chill filtered
  • Price £34.40

Nose: The laddie character hits you in the face harder than any laddie I’ve tried before. I have described this previously as ‘balloons dipped in natural yogurt’. There is a cereal note that is like the creamy grain topping a nice crumble. Faint hint of green rhubarb goes nicely with the crumble. There are similar notes in the laddie ten but these are really ramped up here.

Palate: The rhubarb crumble and cream really comes through on the palate. No need for further descriptors here: Green rhubarb, crumble, cream, nicely integrated.

Finish: Long with a creamy mouthfeel, almost `clarty’ (Yorkshire word) like double cream on crumble.

Verdict: Not sure this whisky is for everyone but I love it! Very different, interesting, delicious, well priced, and with a craft presentation. The lads from the laddie have done it again! This is one organic product I’ll be seeking out in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

