Whisky Advent Calendar: Day 10

So, yesterday I voiced mutinous thoughts about the value of my advent calendar drams. Right on cue, MoM delivered day 10: The Glenlivet Archive 21 year old. Yay!

 

glenlivet21

 

Here are the dramstats:

  • Age 21
  • ABV 43%
  • Price ~£100

Nose: Fruity sherry, raisin, then fresh pine. This one is like a pine forest in the snow. Unbelievable for 21 years to seem so fresh. With time in the glass I get tea load.

Palate: Raisin, fruit cake, slight resin note and pine.

Finish: Raisin, slightly spicy oak and walnut oil. Very drinkable.

Verdict: It’s a lovely whisky. Great fresh pine nose. Almost cakey palate and very smooth. I want a bottle of it but I’m not paying £100 for it! It’s a shame it is so expensive, because I really want it. My faith in the advent calendar is restored!

 

Leave a Reply

