The 12 drams of xmas: Day 3

Today we continue the series of reports on the 12 drams of xmas twitter tasting event.

To give you a quick reminder, 11 online whisky enthusiasts poured half a bottle of whisky into 10 sample bottles and sent them to the other 10 taking part. The bottles were marked only with the number of the day we were due to start. On the given day, we all blind tasted the chosen dram and tried to guess what it was.

Though I did well on some of the drams and embarrassingly badly on some others, I’m posting my tasting notes, my unedited guesses and revealing the answers. I will understand if, having read this series, you decide to take my word in the future with a pinch of salt!

Dram #3 was from Adrian Barnett (@mynameisgone) on twitter. Here are my notes:

Nose: Smokey sweet and coastal, coastal peat with midori melon liqueur on lobster! Also a nice steak pie note came through after time in the glass.

Palate: Sweet and smokey with a cough sweets note. Reminds me of the Bowmore fishermans friend note. Melon and dark fruits come through and there is a reminder of sloe gin.

Finish: Melon note with salty peat, cough sweets and bitter caramel.

My guess: I really wasn’t sure with this one. It wasn’t really like any Islay dram I’d had with the melon notes, but I didn’t have a clue and plugged for Bowmore 15 year old at 40%ABV because of the fishermans friend note (having looked it up Bowmore 15 darkest is 43% so that was an error on the ABV there).

The answer: Deanston 12 year old Highland whisky, The Whisky Shop Glenkier Treasures, 40% ABV

*facepalm*

I had the standard Deanston 12 year old expression from the advent calendar (see this post). It was nothing like this. Sure the fresh fruit was there, but I wonder if this is quite a different style of Deanston with some light peat that The Whisky Shop have gotten hold of. Maybe what i thought was peat was something else entirely? Spectacularly wrong, yet still in the game!

Leave a Reply

