The 12 drams of xmas: Day 4

Continuing the series of reports on the 12 drams of xmas twitter tasting event:

Quick reminder: 11 online whisky enthusiasts poured half a bottle of whisky into 10 sample bottles and sent them to the other 10 taking part. The bottles were marked only with the number of the day we were due to start. On the given day, we all blind tasted the chosen dram and tried to guess what it was.

Though I did well on some of the drams and embarrassingly badly on some others, I’m posting my tasting notes, my unedited guesses and revealing the answers.

Dram #4 was from Sandy Gould (@sjjgo on twitter). Here are my notes:

Nose: Benilyn cough syrup, sherry, christmas cake, star anise, aniseed.

Palate: Thick PX soaked fruits with cough syrup.

Finish: Rich, almost savoury sherry and liquorice covered in chocolate nutella. Really nutty fade.

My guess: I thought this was PX matured and thought it was a really thick dram and 40-43%ABV. Hence I plumped for highlands. I followed the PX route and went Glenmorangie Sonalta.

The answer: Linkwood 15 year old Speyside by Gordon and Mcphail at 43%

I tried to find out from Sandy if this had PX in it (and a couple of tasters also got that note), but it doesn’t say on the bottle. Never had any Linkwood before, and this was very big for a Speysider, but I really enjoyed it. Knowing what it was, I don’t think I really stood a chance 😦

Leave a Reply

