The 12 drams of xmas: Day 8

Continuing the series of reports on the 12 drams of xmas twitter tasting event:

Quick reminder: 11 online whisky enthusiasts poured half a bottle of whisky into 10 sample bottles and sent them to the other 10 taking part. The bottles were marked only with the number of the day we were due to start. On the given day, we all blind tasted the chosen dram and tried to guess what it was.

Though I did well on some of the drams and embarrassingly badly on some others, I’m posting my tasting notes, my unedited guesses and revealing the answers.

Dram #6 was from Tom Thomson (@ifotou on twitter) and author of Toms Whisky Reviews. Here are my notes:

Nose: Quite floral with pot pourri, vanilla and clove. Apple flavoured astro belts and a hob nob note.

Palate: Apple astro belts come through along with the biscuit notes and some sherbet.

Finish: Juicy barley, no peat, apple chips, apple sourz and a malty fade.

My guess: A really great dram and it had a lowland quality but I couldn’t place the strong apple notes. Certainly nowhere other than Auchentoshan, but, for the strength, that would make this the Auchentoshan Valinch and, having been given a sample of that at the distillery in November, it didn’t taste like that. I was also tempted by Deanston because of the apple notes, but I’d had that with the Advent Calendar. In the end I went for Glen Garioch 12 as I thought I remembered similar notes from that when I tried it in 2011.

The answer: Auchentoshan Valinch 2012 lowland whisky, 57.2% (Auchentoshan Festival Bottling)

Doh! Pretty sure this gave me 0 points even though I feel like I was kind of close. My guess is that the festival bottling was different to the edition I tried in November. It’s highly likely as these things do differ from batch to batch.

It really was a nice dram though, and at least I got the country right this time!

Leave a Reply

