The 12 drams of xmas: Day 11

Continuing the series of reports on the 12 drams of xmas twitter tasting event:

Quick reminder: 11 online whisky enthusiasts poured half a bottle of whisky into 10 sample bottles and sent them to the other 10 taking part. The bottles were marked only with the number of the day we were due to start. On the given day, we all blind tasted the chosen dram and tried to guess what it was.

Though I did well on some of the drams and embarrassingly badly on some others, I’m posting my tasting notes, my unedited guesses and revealing the answers.

Dram #11 was from Steve Prentice (imaginatively @steveprentice on twitter) and author of The Somerset Whisky Blog. Here are my notes:

Nose: Icing sugar, lychee, mince pie filling, orange peel, nutmeg and cinnamon, lemon curd. Seems to be a bourbon cask. Also a nutty note.

Palate: Quite unlike the nose. Pepper, quite savoury, and nutty.

Finish: Pepper and some savoury oak.

My guess: This definitely had a highland style, and I didn’t think it was too old. I wasn’t familiar with this particular dram so I went for a highland distillery I wasn’t familiar with, Glenturret 10 year old. I also knew that Steve won a few bottles of this, so it was an “educated” guess.

The answer: Glenturret 10

Slam into the back of the net! *Does dance and feels smug* 😀 I enjoyed the nose on this dram, but the flavour profile seemed quite disconnected with the nose.

Leave a Reply

