Dram Review: Auchentoshan – Batch 1 (That Boutique-y Whisky Company)

I was sent this sample by the chaps at Master of Malt. It’s from their range of whiskies labelled “That Boutiquey Whisky Company”. See this post for a little bit about the range.

A little about the label of the Auchentoshan: It depicts famous “mixologist” (what we in the UK call a barman who can make good cocktails) Ryan Chetiyawardana mixing up a storm. It is evocative of Auchentoshan on account of the fact that Auchentoshan is excellent for mixing due to the triple distillation that takes place there (See my review of the Auchentoshan distillery tour here).

Here are the dramstats:

AuchentoshanTBWC

  • Price £63.95 from here
  • ABV 47.1%
  • 50cl

Nose: Initially there is some aftershave and lavender, but this quickly fades. Then Vanilla and a mature corn whisky. Some of the casks in this have been very active and there may even be a percentage of virgin oak. There is a brown sauce note with fresh baked bread. It really sweetens out given time with cinnamon spice coming through.

Palate: Very sweet, lots of red summer fruits, vanilla custard, cinnamon spice, white pepper and oak.

Finish: Pepper, spicy oak then strawberry whips, creamy vanilla milkshake and custard creams.

Verdict: This is the nicest Auchentoshan I have tasted and it’s not even close! However, I wouldn’t say it was a typical lowland. It’s almost like a well matured grain in certain aspects of its character. I’m a fan. MoM know how to blend a good whisky!

Now, here is that part where I say if I would buy a bottle for myself. It’s tricky here. On the one hand I like the whisky and it is affordable. On the other it’s over £60 for only 50cl, which would work out at £89.53 for a full size one. That is in the price range that I’m willing to pay only if I really love the whisky or if I was a fan of the distillery and wanted a bottle with the unique label. This is excellent whisky, the best toshan I’ve tasted, but I wouldn’t buy it for myself. The liquid is excellent and I’m sorry that my sample is gone, but what you love is so personal, this isn’t it for me and it is therefore out of my price range.

Leave a Reply

