Review: Johnnie Walker Gold Label Reserve 12 Blends Day 1

Continuing blended whisky month with my review of Johnnie Walker Gold Label reserve.

This was the first day of our 12 blends competition and today was the turn of Adrian Barnett (mynameisgone on twitter) to tease us all with this blind tasting. This competition works the same way as the 12 drams of christmas did. We taste the whiskies the blind, then blog about them. I will post my guesses and the results honestly.

To be honest, the chance of any of us getting any right is pretty remote! We know malts, but it’s difficult to guess a blend unless you are loyal to the brand. The point of this, for me at least, is not to get many right, but to become exposed to blends I’d not tried or appreciated.

Here are the dramstats:

blend_joh104

 

  • ABV 40%
  • Price £40.50
  • NAS

Nose: Sweet with a good waft of smoke and honey. Buttery and there is a hint of lavender.

Palate: The buttery and honey sweetness is there and there is a hint of buttery popcorn.

Finish: Finish Slight peppery tingle from the oak, some rich honey and a touch of smoke.

Verdict: An excellent blend with a lovely balance of sweetness and smoke with a nice kiss of spice at the end. One I could happily dram with all night! However, I think it’s a little too pricey for my money. If I could get £10 off somewhere I may be picking up a bottle!

Leave a Reply

