The Tweeddale Blend Batch 3

I tasted this (and met its creator) at the Edinburgh whisky festival. It was at Alistair’s Tweeddale blend stand that I learned much more about how the Tweeddale is made. It is a blended whisky, sure, but it is a batch blend and is put together using only 9 casks of whisky (one of which is a grain).

Of course, Alistair wouldn’t say which malts and grain is used, but I was impressed that this is a blend of single casks. It makes the Tweedale feel, at least to me, like a “single cask blend”, though I understand how this sort of labelling might be difficult to clear with the Scotch Whisky Association.

For this batch 3, there was a new cask of grain and a new cask of the core malt. Some of the casks had some left from previous batches (one might imagine these are the highly smokey/sherried “flavour” malts). My notes may seem more sparse than usual here as I was busy talking to Alistair when tasting and because I only had a 10ml sample. Still, you’ll get the idea…Here are the dramstats:tweeddalebatch3

  • Price £34.99
  • Age 12 years
  • ABV 46%

Nose: Malty at first with some nice aged grain notes (biscuity and spicy). Then things get fruity and there is a subtle minty note in the background.

Palate: Malty, fruity and a really fantastic mouthfeel.

Finish: A spicy oak and pepper hit, then fruity with grapes and pears before the mouthfeel gets “creamy”.

Verdict: I preferred this to batch 2. I think the Tweeddale blend is going from strength to strength on this evidence and I’m actually quite taken with both the whisky, the people that make it and the way it is made. I will be picking myself up a bottle of this soon and I’ll be buying it directly from the Tweeddale guys from here.

3 thoughts on “The Tweeddale Blend Batch 3

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Blended Whiskies | dramstats

  2. Pingback: Tweeddale Whisky » Danny Williamson @DramStats prefers The Tweeddale 3rd release over batch 2…

Leave a Reply

