Review: Hazelburn 8 years old

I picked this little beauty up as a christmas present from my mother in law. I know, I know, “what sort of lucky git gets good single malt from their mother in law?” Well this one it turns out!

Hazelburn, is essentially unpeated Springbank. Check here for some of my other reviews of Springbank whiskies.

Springbank distillery in Campbeltown has 3 core single malt expressions. Hazelburn, Springbank and Longrow. The first being unpeated, with Springbank having some peat and Longrow being heavily peated. I find that Springbank has a unique nose and that, to get to the bottom of it, trying Hazelburn really helps.

Here are the dramstats:

hazelburn8
  • Price £34.37
  • ABV 46%
  • No caramel, No chill filtration

Nose: Fresh bourbon cask and that unique nutty, salty, Springbank note. Salted tortilla chips, white pepper, sherbet and a hint of after shave.

Palate: Vanilla, both salty and sweet with white pepper.
Finish: White pepper and rich vanilla. Custard slice and a touch of orange peel on creme brulee.
Verdict: Lovely stuff. Very good bourbon casks here and very mature for an 8 year old. It’s young enough that you can get a handle on the raw spirit character without being overtaken by the cask, but it is not youthful. I have a feeling that older versions wouldn’t retain as much of the distillery character. An education and very enjoyable. If you are looking to get to the bottom of the Springbank nose (as I have been), pick yourself some of this up. Personally, now that I’ve had this education, I would spend my money on Springbank, which I just love and for which I now have an even greater understanding and appreciation.
Leave a Reply

