Dram Review: Bruichladdich Black Art 3

I got this sample as part of a swap with my friend Adrian Barnett. Can’t remember exactly what I sent him in return, but I hope he enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed this baby from one of my favourite distilleries.

I first heard about Black Art on the whiskycast podcast. Back when Mark did his Feis Ile series, he famously had a lot of Black art 1 and ended up playing a 4am game of crochet by car headlight. If you havn’t listend to that series, go back and do it. Inspired me to go to Islay the next year.

I tasted black art 2 at the distillery (1 of 8 drams there, so no notes,) but I gave this one due care and attention. Here are the dramstats:

laddieblackart3

  • ABV 48.7%
  • Price ~£100 (if you can find it)
  • Age 22 years

Nose: Raisins, oloroso, treacle crumble, dates. Reminds me of sticky warm date pudding soaked in oloroso. Chocolate (the kind you get in the filling of lindor) comes through. Nom.

Palate: Cola cubes and cough mixture with oloroso. Very thick, cola syrup almost.

Finish: Cough syrup and cola.

Verdict: It’s not as fruity on the palate as the nose promises, but it is lovely all the same. If you bought it, you would enjoy a lovely whisky. It’s not special enough for £100 of my money though. You could buy 3 Bruichladdichs for that 🙂

Leave a Reply

